Answer

Does an employer have to accommodate medical uses of marijuana in Oklahoma City, OK.?

Employers are advised to have a clear and concise written drug testing policy and to abide by state laws to avoid litigation. Employers may still test for and/or discipline an employee for marijuana under certain circumstances (e.g., post-accident). Oklahoma medical marijuana SQ 788 does not permit an employer to discipline or terminate a cardholding medical marijuana employee based solely on the presence of marijuana in a drug test. Regardless of a cardholder status, employers are not permitted to bring marijuana to their place of work or be under the influence during their hours of work. If an employee's job is covered by federal guidelines, then they must abide by the federal regulations in order for the company to remain in compliance with federal guidelines, regardless of state laws. Medical marijuana is not a medical exception under the U.S. DOT drug testing regulations, and federally mandated employers are expected to follow federal guidelines.

If drivers are required to have a Class B CDL in order to operate vehicles, then the FMCSA Regulations in Part 382 and Part 383 will apply to your operations. Other areas of the regulations, such as Part 391 or Part 395, may apply to the motor carrier even if they don’t leave the state. Those sections apply to motor carriers operating in interstate commerce, which cannot be determined based solely on never leaving a given state. Interstate commerce is an activity that might occur without a truck ever leaving a single city. We advise that you contact the FMCSA for assistance in determining the applicability of the regulations.

According to the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, permits are required for all businesses and organizations who will be moving within or from the quarantine zone while working. More details and examples can be found on the Department of Agriculture's Spotted Lanternfly Information Page.

According to the Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture, a citation matrix is in the making. The Pennsylvania SLF Quarantine Order states the following for those who are not in compliance with the required permit:

Criminal citation up to $300 per violation.

Civil penalty up to $20,000 per violation.

Revocation of permit or compliance agreement if PDA determines the holder has not complied.

For more information, you can view the Quarantine Order